Bellini

So, I’m in the market for a new doorbell, for a door that leads from our courtyard gate to our front walkway.  I thought it would be pretty easy to find one I could live with, while not breaking any of the strictly enforced, holier-than-thou HOA rules, but I was so completely wrong.  As in, countless, fruitless hours wrong, wrong, wrong.  Lesson learned – doorbells are tricky.  Sigh.

Then, I came across a random photo of a doorbell-looking device.  The thingamabob itself was kinda ho-hum, really, just a square, brassy-looking affair with a plain black push button and four screws surrounding what looked to be a glass-covered placard.  I don’t even really like brass.  But printed inside the placard area it clearly stated, in all caps, “Press for Champagne.”  Who doesn’t want to press for champagne?  Must.  Have. Doorbell.

Turns out, though, it’s not technically a doorbell.  Not in the run-down-to-the-hardware-store-and-pick-one-up sense, and not in the special-order-from-anywhere-I-can-find sense.  Instead, it belongs to Bob Bob Ricard, an eclectic, sumptuous restaurant in London. Oh, and what I thought was brass?  Um, no, it’s gold-plated.  Sigh again.  While I quickly added Bob Bob Ricard to my list of “Places I Must Visit, Hopefully Soon”, none of this seemed to get me any closer at all to solving my doorbell dilemma.  When my husband, who was out and about, called to check in, I recounted the whole ordeal in detail, in a sort of huffy tone of voice.  To cheer me up (and probably because he was more interested in champagne than doorbells), he brought home a bottle of bubbly, and this delicious white peach nectar.  Bellinis to the rescue!

These bellinis are the easiest I’ve ever made, and by far the best.  I’m giving the credit to Alain Milliat’s brilliant nectar pêche blanche; it is just lovely and not too sweet.

That whole doorbell thing is so going to have to wait.

Bellini
Makes about 7 servings.

1 bottle white peach nectar
1 bottle champagne (or prosecco)
1-2 fresh, ripe peaches

Chill peach nectar in the refrigerator for at least one hour.

Slice peaches for garnish.  Set aside.

Fill each champagne flute with 1 1/2 ounces of peach nectar.  Slowly add 3/12 ounces of chilled champagne to each glass.  Garnish with reserved peach slices and serve immediately.

Note:  For a close-up view of the coveted “doorbell” and a review of Bob Bob Ricard, check out theboywhoatetheworld.  Alain Milliat nectars are available from Williams-Sonoma

Leave a Reply

